How important is the Coalition for Ultra Refined Transplantation?

olmert,

You can learn about our criteria for recommending physicians here.

In addition to meeting recommendation standards, Coalition physicians must meet the following additional criteria.

• A demonstrated capability to successfully perform large sessions of ultra refined follicular unit grafting using tiny incisions and grafts that are microscopically prepared.
  • The ability to dense pack tiny follicular unit grafts in a given area when appropriate.

For more on Coalition standards, click here.

David - Former Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant

I am not a medical professional. All opinions are my own and my advice should not constitute as medical advice.

View my Hair Loss Website

^^^ I can't really make much sense out the criteria for the coalition.

Say a doctor is recommended here, but not part of the coalition. Does that mean such a doctor probably will make larger incisions with more scarring, with a more plug-like look for the transplanted hair, and less densely packed transplanted hair?

Is this term "Ultra Refined Follicular Unit Hair Transplantation," a well known term, such at FUE or FUT? I have tried to get a better understanding what it means, but to no avail. Google searches don't yield anything.

I am very confused.

olmert,

Physician members of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians have demonstrated a proven ability that they can perform dense packing and large sessions of ultra refined follicular unit hair transplantation exceeding 2500 grafts when appropriate for the patient. The phrase "ultra refined" simply means that a physician/clinic is making tinier incision, cutting smaller, refined follicular units and reducing the amount of overall trauma to the scalp while maximizing growth yield, density and fullness.