African Americans FUE/HT

So can black folk get hair transplants/FUE?

The reason why I ask, and excuse me because I'm new to this, is because black folk have less hair density.

So I'm guessing you have massive density in addition to donor hair... am I right?

If I am wrong, please post pictures of African American males that have received HT/FUEs.

Thank you.

EDIT:

I found this

http://www.hairtransplantnetwork.com/Share-Info/hairloss-photos.asp?ToS=trplt&grp=0

Derp.

Edited by HighTopFade
adding link to non-white results

Hightopfade,

Yes, African American hair loss sufferers can successfully undergo both follicular unit extraction (FUE) and follicular unit transplantation (FUT) procedures. However, as you pointed out, there are a few factors that make African American hair transplant cases a bit more unique and interesting. First, it's my understanding that the usual characteristics of African American hair makes dissecting follicular unit grafts or cleanly extracting units a bit more difficult. It seems like the hair characteristics can be a bit curly, thick, and "wirey," which makes working with these follicular units more difficult. However, these same characteristics, in my opinion, often create excellent density and coverage when transplanted into thinning scalp.

Additionally, as you stated before, African American patients tend to have lower density in the universal extraction region when compared to Caucasian patients, for example. However, "lower density," does not imply that transplantation is not possible; it simply means that session sizes may be a bit more conservative (which could again be countered by the excellent characteristics of the donor grafts).

Finally, it's my understanding that African American patients tend to scar a bit easier than, again, compared to individuals of different races.