Taking photos of the crown

Surfarosa

I just heard that whilst a flash makes the hairline look great in photos, it actually make shots of the crown look much worse. Is this true ?

That would suggest to me that flash shots of your crown and top of head - for the purposes of chronicling progression of thinning or the effectiveness of medical treatments - would be the most critical & accurate as the light is always a) harsh and b) the same.

Surfarosa,

I've taken the liberty of moving your post to Open Hair Loss Topics from the Welcome section. It should get a lot more views now.

All the best,

David - Former Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant

I am not a medical professional. All opinions are my own and my advice should not constitute as medical advice.

View my Hair Loss Website

If your hair is thinning I don't think it matters if it's the crown or the hairline when it comes to using a flash. The more scalp there is to reflect off of, the worse your hair will look. As far as being more accurate, it's also important to have the exact angle when snapping pics, which can be very hard to do--even if using a tri-pod, and the exact same room lighting. I believe there's a thread on here somewhere with tips for picture taking.

Edited by hairthere

I am the owner/operator of AHEAD INK a Scalp Micropigmentation Company in Fort Lee, New Jersey. www.aheadink.com