Propecia over the years

new york

If one is using propecia over an extended period of time (I have been using for almost seven years). Is it worth considering switching meds (avodart, dut etc.) to avoid propecia losing its effectiveness as it is reported to do?

new york,

The notion that Propecia loses its effectiveness is not exactly true in the way that it is being reported to be. For example, look at this chart that I posted a while back:

mean_change_crossover_data_chart.gif

As you can see from the chart that hair counts from individuals that utilize Propecia increase at first and then start to slightly decline. Adversely, users of a placebo have steady, deep declining hair counts. After five years on Propecia, hair count is still above the baseline hair count while the placebo hair counts are well below.

So, in saying that Propecia loses is efficacy is not true. Yes, after the initial spurt of growth, a slight decline still happens over the years, but that does not mean that Propecia is not working, but rather that hair loss is very much progressive and that Propecia is doing a good job in keeping it at bay, just not a full 100%. Still, at five years out and still above baseline hair count is pretty good.

Should you switch to another medication? Well, that decision is solely up to you, but as an Avodart user I would strongly advise against switching if you are getting good results with Propecia alone. Avodart gave me some heavy shedding in the first few months which I spoke of in this thread with another user. It can be a real roller coaster ride at the onset and I am still not positive that it was the best decision, but I am sticking it out (perhaps subbornly so icon_smile.gif).

I hope this helped to clear this up for you.

-Robert

------------------------------

Check out the results of my surgical hair restoration performed by Dr. Jerry Cooley by visiting my Hair Loss Weblog