Generic Propeica

Hey guys,

I think Mike75 just posted a question about this and I wanted to ask a follow up question. Does anyone have any information as to when a generic form of propecia is coming out. Merck is killing me with this whole $2 a pill thing! I'm a freakin college student! LOL.

Also I read something about Proscar, someone mentioned its a 5mg version of Propecia. Is it less expensive? Thanks

Thanks guys!

Hey guys,

I think Mike75 just posted a question about this and I wanted to ask a follow up question. Does anyone have any information as to when a generic form of propecia is coming out. Merck is killing me with this whole $2 a pill thing! I'm a freakin college student! LOL.

Also I read something about Proscar, someone mentioned its a 5mg version of Propecia. Is it less expensive? Thanks

Thanks guys!

Propecia is still covered by a patent, I believe until 2011, no generic version is legally for sale, Indian labs produce the generic form but I would not risk it. Proscar is much less expensive and available as a generic drug I believe, I'll be switching to a quarter Proscar pill daily or maybe even every other day pretty soon.

AnArabiaNight,

Yes, I can confirm that. The active ingredient in Propecia and Proscar is Finasteride. Proscar comes in 5mg and Propecia comes in one. If you have medical benefits, see if your doctor will prescribe you Proscar and take 1/5 a pill daily. You will have to cut the pill, best thing to do is use a pill cutter that you can buy at a pharmacy. I just switched from Propecia to Proscar and paid a $10 copay for 4 months worth of Proscar as opposed to $190 for 3 months of Propecia.

Bill

• Administrators

Good question and good answers. The only two reasons to buy Propecia instead of Procar(which can now be purchased as a very cheap generic) and then cutting it in to quarters are -

1) To make sure that Merck pharmacy, the maker of Propecia, maximizes their profits.