Question about Propecia shedding

andy22

Hey guys,

I recently posted that I'm 21 and noticed a pretty receding hairline so I began taking Propecia.

Well, I've been on it for 2 months and noticed what seems to be my crown looking more visible and thinner. I can't recall noticing this before, and it seems as though I have been shedding quite a bit for the past 1-2 months, so my question is: can shedding be the cause of the apparent thinning on my crown? I know many posts on this site have spoken about shedding but not very specific to my situation. Additionally, can this shedding (I'm keeping my fingers crossed that it's being caused by Propecia, and not naturally) be a good thing? This should indicate that my hair is responding to the propecia, correct?

I appreciate any feedback, and, as I've said you guys have really helped me out a lot (More than you can imagine). You can understand how difficult it is for younger guys like myself to have to deal with the beginnings of balding...

andy22,

Welcome to our community.

I can confirm for sure that shedding can be normal for the first 3 months when on Propecia. If the loss you are experiencing is indeed shedding, this is an indiciation that the medication is working. It is advisable to stay on finasteride for at least 1 year before making a final conclusion as to whether or not it's working for you. If I were you, I'd consider taking bi-monthly or quarterly pictures of your thinning areas while on the medication and chart your progress that way.

I hope this helps.

Bill

Hey Bill,

Just checking back in. Work has kept me pretty busy and away from the boards. A lot of reading to catch up. I am now five weeks out and getting the itching, a few pimples, which as I've read is a good thing and some shedding/ thinning/shock that is driving me crazy.