Advice on Switching to Avodart and general advice?

I am a 27 year old male thinning on top and I would classify myself as a NW3. I started losing hair in my early 20's and the first treatment I started was on Rogaine. At that time I only had a receeding hairline and I only used Rogaine for the hair line. Unfortunately I have just found out that Rogaine is not really effective for the hairline. After about 1 year of treatment and not noticing any improvement I started on Propecia at about 25. I experienced the most hairloss while using propecia (I dont think it is the cause and I hate to think how thin I would be without it).

I know that most of my hairloss can be attributed to MPB cause my dad is approaching 60 and is a NW5/NW6. But my older brother who will be 29 this year does not show any signs of thinning. I'd say that my accelerated hairloss may be attributed to stress (I feel I have been an overworked programmer spending nearly 12 hours a day on a computers)/ poor diet (my hair loss started in my early teens after I moved out of home - I havent been eating my greens icon_smile.gif ) / and after reading some links in this forum possibly earlier creatine use in my teens.

So to re-iterate the last couple of years I have experienced the most shedding and this was while I have been taking propecia. So I was wondering what are peoples thoughts on Avodart? If anyone here has had good results with Avodart compared with Propecia, etc.

BTW I am thankful for finding this forum as I would have had my HT in the UK but after seeing the difference that a top surgeon can make and that you have only 1 head and the many horror stories people have had with HT's - I've decided to bear no expense and have an appointment for next month with Ron Shapiro. Also because of this site I am currently starting a 'regime' of Propecia/minodoxil 5%/MSM/Vitamin B-complex and Biotin and Nioxin and 1% Nizoral - hoping for some results in a couple of months.