FUE - best to wait? Opinions on my receding hairline welcome!

Hello there,

This is a great forum - I have been researching on hair loss for about 2 years and wish I had found it earlier. It took me a long while to post, I have mainly PM'd some guys whose writing I liked but I hoped someone might have some additional opinions about my situation.

My case:

I shaved my head for about a year, buzz cut to leave stubble rather than the shiny shiny look. I would have left it at that, but because the hairline is receding unevenly and straight down the middle (I would say Norwood 2A). I grew the hair back in and have been sporting a very becoming forward comb over for about a year now...

My goal would be to have my hair line back, in a manner which allowed me to settle for a buzz cut (or even a no guard shave) if thinning gets any worse. If that makes sense. Stubbled shaved heads with an even, neat hairline look way better than those with stubble way further back.

With this in mind, for me, strip surgery is not something I really want to do. I may reconsider in the future, but for now it does not feel like something I want due to the scar.

FUE seems much more appealing. In an ideal world (and during my initial research, some clinics lead me to believe this was possible) I would have FUE that lead to minimal, tiny dot scarring on the back.

Hair replaced to create the hairline at the front and then less dense units going back becoming a little more diffuse. Thus, if, or when, the thinning and balding continues I can buzz cut my hair with no noticeable scaring to the back and a hairline that looks normal at the front and progressively as if it were balding from the back. This would make me happy.

Is this a massively unrealistic goal? Do I need to re-think completely?

Do you think this will be possible with FUE in the future? And thus maybe it is best to just wait and see? Or are my goals reasonable and could be achieved now?