NY HT Surgeon Search

KulMD

Sharing my NY HT MD Search:

I recently decided to learn more about getting an HT. I am 50 and gradually losing the battle against my receding hairline and expanding baldness in my crown. This website provided me with exceptional resources and a great way to educate myself based on contributing member experiences. I live ?? hour from NYC and decided to look into the local HT community. I was willing to travel if I felt that the result would be enhanced. I am a physician and would prefer to be able to see my surgeon if post op complications arose.

1. Bosley NYC

At the time I decided to pursue HT options, I put myself on Finasteride and Rogaine. I set up an appt with a Bosley consultant on Long Island. Interesting experience:

I was told that I needed 2100 grafts and the surgery would be performed by 1 of 2 MD s in Manhattan. I asked about them and he scribbled down their names and said most patients prefer to just book the surgery rather than meeting the docs first. "It would save you an extra trip to the city".

The proposed fee including operating $12,300 plus an O.R. fee of between $500 ??“ 1000, depending upon the day of the week.

OK, I did have a pleasant chat with the consultant and he provided me with a fair amount of detail which helped me realize that I need to conduct more detailed research.

2. Dr. Jeffrey Epstein; Miami & NY ??“ I was able to get an appt with him while he was in NY. He mailed me several times and was very helpful and professional. His e mail informed me that he would be glad to evaluate photos and give me his opinion. Also, "my fees typically range from $3.50 to $4 per graft, and procedures are performed in both Miami (where fees are a bit less) and NYC".