help about balding in younger years

I'm a newbie at this website. I was diagnosed with male pattern baldness at the age of 15 and with seborrheic dermatitis at the age of 14. I am currently 16. I have tried Rogaine - no result. The doctor has not given me a prescription for propecia b/c of my age.

I have also tried other shampoos for the dermatitis - results were mildly successful.

I have already lost a significant portion of hair at the temples and at the top of the head toward the back.

Can anyone here advise me on what to do? - I fear I will be bald in my early 20s.

Any reply would be appreciated.

I'm a newbie at this website. I was diagnosed with male pattern baldness at the age of 15 and with seborrheic dermatitis at the age of 14. I am currently 16. I have tried Rogaine - no result. The doctor has not given me a prescription for propecia b/c of my age.

I have also tried other shampoos for the dermatitis - results were mildly successful.

I have already lost a significant portion of hair at the temples and at the top of the head toward the back.

Can anyone here advise me on what to do? - I fear I will be bald in my early 20s.

teenbaldie, your situation sounds a little confusing to me. I have not heard of MPB in someone of your age. I am not in any way qualified to give medical advice, but a second opinion might be beneficial to you. Perhaps your problem is dermatological in origin. Let us know how you are doing. Terry.

• 2 weeks later...

I have heard of male pattern hair loss in people as young as 15, although it's quite rare. Your doctor probably won't prescribe you Propecia because I believe Merck indicates that you should be at least 18. I would stick with the rogaine and also add Nizoral to your regimen. Nizoral will help with your seborrheic dermatitis and will lesson the itching you experience from Rogaine. Nizoral also has some mild anti-DHT properties. And like the other poster had stated, get a couple of opinions from some other doctors.