Which is best?? Propecia / Rogaine / Minoxidil

macd

Hi, this is my first time on this forum. Just found this site by chance. Can anyone recommend a treatment which the majority of you out there can agree will work (i know treatments vary from person to person). I am going thin on my crown and also receeding hairline.

I have read stories about finestride affecting sex lives and that would be a risk i am not prepared to take. So which are the best topical treatments and shampoos / programs to use.

I would appreciate all advice given my way...

macd

You have pretty much sumed it up yourself in the thread title.

If you are not prepared to do Propecia, then you must hit the Rogaine. Brand name Rogaine verse generic Minox, I am not sure about - I am sure someone here will provide you the scoop.

I think you should stick to what most rely on - Rogaine, and wash 3 times a week with Nizoral or Revita.

Perhaps try some nettle or other herb / green stuff, because its cheap and may promote something in you that doesnt work in others.

Stick to the known stuff first, and throw in others if you can be bothered.

Remember to document your progress - its same like weight loss, or gym work. A lot of the time you might lose weight, but you cant see it (or gain it and not notice). Its only when someone hasnt seen you for ages, that they will say 'gee you lost HEAPS of weight', and you didnt se that.

Same with the hair - make sure you document your progress through photos so you can be certain, and get a real kick from seeing thicker hair 6 months from startin your routine (fingers crossed it works).

Good luck !

OH and remember that receding hairlines / temples dont react as well as the crown, to both Propecia and Rogaine.

These drugs work the crown much more effectively.

I havent heard of a sure fire method tha works on the front of your head, perhaps someone else has some good info ...?

Good luck once again

Both generic and brand name have the same active ingredient.