what is the „normal rate“ of miniaturization in the donor area?

• Administrators

10% is the average for telogen.

• Like 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

My local HT surgeon informed me that anything less than 20% is considered normal and not DUPA.

I have some miniaturization in my donor but the doctor said it's about 5% which is fairly normal and he said he wouldn't be concerned unless it was more than 20%.

9 minutes ago, Ccd99 said:

My local HT surgeon informed me that anything less than 20% is considered normal and not DUPA.

I have some miniaturization in my donor but the doctor said it's about 5% which is fairly normal and he said he wouldn't be concerned unless it was more than 20%.

thank you 

i have 5 % at the sides but 15 % at the back so i was a bit concerned i might have dupa

nontheless, probably should take fin more seriously 

1 minute ago, mr_peanutbutter said:

thank you 

i have 5 % at the sides but 15 % at the back so i was a bit concerned i might have dupa

nontheless, probably should take fin more seriously 

Exactly, this is why I never understand people who say there is no need for them to take DHT inhibitors like fin/dut because they've "lost most of their hair anyway" or "not going to lose any more hair because I'm in 40s"

The reality is not all donor hair is DHT resistant, and over time DHT will work away and miniaturise some donor hair too (not necessarily all).