Is oral minoxidil safe?

I’ve been using topical minoxidil for almost 2 years now and I’m tired of applying it to my hair I’ve became very inconsistent lately with it because of that I am thinking of hopping on 2.5 mg oral minoxidil but I’m not sure of the safety, what do you all think ? I’ve added what my hair looked like when I started minoxidil to now, i am also on 1 mg of finasteride daily for 10 months now.

5BF4FC37-5076-40C0-8A13-5FEFD4CA5046.jpeg

12F901BB-9ACC-471C-AC4B-1296E7C32A1D.jpeg

8A8DA180-00CE-41D6-9F37-AE0E66E56A7E.jpeg

80B8A32A-D736-421D-B026-F67B58DA6E4C.jpeg

• Valued Contributor

A dosage of 2.5 mg of oral minoxidil is generally considered safe and has been found to be effective for individuals dealing with hair loss. Many doctors around the world prescribe this dosage to their patients. It's important to know that minoxidil is a vasodilator, meaning it widens blood vessels. Due to this property, it is essential to use minoxidil under the supervision and guidance of a doctor.

When it comes to any medication, be it minoxidil or finasteride, it's crucial to consult with a doctor before starting treatment. Doctors will typically conduct the necessary tests and evaluations to ensure that the medication is safe and appropriate for the individual's condition. It is not wise to start or change medication or alter dosages without doctor's guidance, as this can lead to potential health risks. 

Check Out My Hair Transplant Journey

--> My Thread

3611 FUE Grafts With Dr Kongkiat Laorwong | Norwood 5 | 2nd May 2023