Consistency of propecia results across scalp

imissthebarber

I was just wondering how uniformly propecia works across the scalp. I know that it has a reputation for being most effective in the crown area. Is it possible that it could actively cause regrowth in the crown whilst hairs are still being lost elsewhere?

I have been using it for about six months and I think it has improved the crown but have noticed some hairs coming out. I realise there could be many other explanations but just want to hear other people's experiences.

I was just wondering how uniformly propecia works across the scalp. I know that it has a reputation for being most effective in the crown area. Is it possible that it could actively cause regrowth in the crown whilst hairs are still being lost elsewhere?

I have been using it for about six months and I think it has improved the crown but have noticed some hairs coming out. I realise there could be many other explanations but just want to hear other people's experiences.

Imissthebarber,

I think in order to answer this question, you have to understand how Propecia actually works.

Finasteride, the active ingredient in Propecia, inhibits the production of approximately 60% of the DHT in the body by blocking Type II 5-alpha reductase enzymes. That said, your body still produces some DHT and therefore, there is still the possibility that some DHT will bind to hair follicle receptor sites and cause damage to it. Since the quantity of DHT has been diminished, it will most likely result in less damage to the hair follicles. Hair follicles that are more susceptible to DHT may still continue to weaken and thus, those hairs, may continue to shrink and die. Hairs not as susceptible may thicken as a result of a lesser amount of DHT in the body.