Clinica Medilor (Dr. Jose Lorenzo) said I can sleep normally after surgery

I'm about to book surgery with Dr. Lorenzo and have been emailing his clinic various questions. One of the things I asked is how long I need to sleep in an upright position and they replied that there is no need - I can sleep "normally". Has anyone else heard this from either that clinic or another one? Everything I've read says to sleep at a 30-90 degree angle for 5-15 days (the numbers vary from source to source).

you are going to be miserable and sleep deprived the first week of surgery, no matter how you sleep. 

But all you need to do is sleep on your back for 3 days with a travelers pillow and you will be in the clear. 

Or you can sleep normally and totally run the realistic chance of dislodging grafts

your call

• Administrators

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

21 hours ago, xtl said:

I'm about to book surgery with Dr. Lorenzo and have been emailing his clinic various questions. One of the things I asked is how long I need to sleep in an upright position and they replied that there is no need - I can sleep "normally". Has anyone else heard this from either that clinic or another one? Everything I've read says to sleep at a 30-90 degree angle for 5-15 days (the numbers vary from source to source).

The only reason to sleep at an angle is to help the fluids drain from your face so you don't look bloated. If you don't mind a puffy face for ~5 days then you can sleep normally, just don't sleep on the recipient area.