Finasteride Side Effect

Bharath

Dear All, 

I have started to take Finasteride since last 25 days. Off late i have been sensing pain in one of my testicles and it is on and off. Secondly i have noticed some tenderness in my chest and it feels a bit more loose and saggy. Kindly advise on whether i should be continuing the drug or not. I also recently had my hair transplant. Will the above side effects disappear if i stop taking the medicine.

Will Topical finasteride work ? Does it make sense in any manner.

Regards

• Like 1

• Valued Contributor

It makes total sense and what you have described are potential side effects of finasteride. I would recommend that you speak with your doctor (or better still your dermatologist) and the surgeon who performed your surgery. These sides (especially the ball ache) can pass. The tenderness of the pecs 'potentially' could lead to gynomastica and you may want to just cease the drug. Again I'm not a doctor and can only give my opinion which is why I suggest speaking to those mentioned above. All the best!

• Sad 1

• Valued Contributor

To date Xylon Health's topical finasteride has the lowest incidence in clinical trials for side effects. Minoxidil does not have a history of sexual side effects at all (as far as I know and I've been following the drug since it was released here in Australia in 1986). I suggest you discuss all of these options with your dermatologist. Don't panic and don't throw the baby out with the bath water.

• Like 1

4 hours ago, Bharath said:

Dear All, 

I have started to take Finasteride since last 25 days. Off late i have been sensing pain in one of my testicles and it is on and off. Secondly i have noticed some tenderness in my chest and it feels a bit more loose and saggy. Kindly advise on whether i should be continuing the drug or not. I also recently had my hair transplant. Will the above side effects disappear if i stop taking the medicine.

Regards

Hi, what dosage and how often do you take it?