How to wear laser cap post-op on a full(er) head of hair

As the time goes by post-op, there are no spots left and I am sceptical about wearing my laser cap on a full head of hair as the diodes "can't see" the follicles (apart from the front part of the hairline). What is the point of wearing a laser cap if the light cannot penetrate onto the scalp as it is blocked by the actual hair? Would hair pins work?

First world problems

• Administrators

Depending on the laser cap, yes it definitely helps. Do you have the original laser cap?

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

1 hour ago, GHTJourneya said:

As the time goes by post-op, there are no spots left and I am sceptical about wearing my laser cap on a full head of hair as the diodes "can't see" the follicles (apart from the front part of the hairline). What is the point of wearing a laser cap if the light cannot penetrate onto the scalp as it is blocked by the actual hair? Would hair pins work?

First world problems

I use the Capillus cap and from my understanding, the LEDs can penetrate through the follicle to the scalp. Not sure if this is 100% true or not, but I love using it and I feel like it has been of benefit. 

https://www.capillus.com/pages/capillus-pro

Edited by sunsurfhair

39 minutes ago, Melvin- Moderator said:

Depending on the laser cap, yes it definitely helps. Do you have the original laser cap?