Rogaine+retin and periorbital edema

Hair2012

I have been using Rogaine 5% for over 25 years without any side effects. I recently switched to a minoxidil-azelaic acid-retin-A combo. After 2 weeks I started to get periorbital edema,headache and shortness of breath. these side effects are possibly due to too much minoxidil absorption because of the retin-a which enhances absorption of minoxidil. so I stopped it and side effects went away except the periorbital edema.Its been 5 days since I stopped it.

Does anyone have experience this type of side effect (periorbital edema) and how long does it take to go away ?

Thanks

Edited by Hair2012

I have had a few patients with this side effect and I know that it can be quite upsetting.

Increase your fluid intake and massage the area to enhance lymphatic drainage.

The few clients I have had with this swelling found that it went within 2 or 3 days, but I told them to do this immediately.

Is there any redness? Do you feel that your eyelids are swollen?

Dr Tom Walker

Dear Dr.Walker, first of all thank you for your response. There is no redness but my lower eyelids are swollen like racoon eyes. The symptoms that I had periorbital edema,headache and shortness of breath led me to believe that overabsorption of minoxidil due to retin-A was the culprit.The headache and shortness of breath went away in about 24-48 hours after stopping this combo. I am at day 6 in my periorbial edema is starting to decrease.I would say the decrease is about 50% from baseline.

I will continue to monitor the situation and only restart Rogaine foam 5% when all is resolved.

Do you find that retin-A increases minoxidil side effects in your practice ?

Aside from massaging the area and increasing fluid intake would a diuretic or oral corticosteroid help reduce the edema ?