Surgery deposit question - Belgium

Hi all,

I'm a UK newbie here and was just looking for a bit of reassurance.

I'm intending to have a procedure with Dr Jean Devroye in the next couple of months at his Belgium clinic. Reading the various hair restoration sites Dr Devroye seems to be well thought of, very professional and held in high regard.

I contacted my bank today to make the necessary arrangements to send through the cash deposit for the surgery. However, they are questioning why I am being asked to send my deposit to a bank account in America when the clinic is in Belgium?

I'm sure they are just trying to look out for me and that there's nothing untoward about this arrangement. Clearly Dr Devroye is a well established and respected surgeon.

Could some site members put my mind at rest that this is nothing to be worried about?

Many thanks,

IndigoBlue

I would recommend that you first verify who the American/US bank account is registered to or better yet who named on the account. If it is your doctor or his organization, then I do not see this as a problem.

It is when any clinic or doctor wants to be paid "in full" before receiving any services that is highly discouraged from doing.

As an "independent" advocate, you would be surprised at how many times that I have heard complaints regarding paying for something that the patient did not receive.

Gillenator

Independent Patient Advocate

I am not a physician and not employed by any doctor/clinic. My opinions are not medical advice, but are my own views which you read at your own risk.

Supporting Physicians: Dr. Robert Dorin: The Hairloss Doctors in New York, NY

Yes, they have quoted a price in Euros. Transferring a large sum of money to another country is alien territory for me, so I admit I'm a little nervous about it.

I'd much rather just hand over a cheque when I get there! A bit old fashioned I know :-)

Thanks both for your comments.