uncertain - looking for suggestions

I'm a newbie here and am looking for some sound advice.

I had hair transplant surgery in 2004 and to be totally honest, I deeply wish I'd never done it. I say that because I’m at a place with myself now where I wound not mind being bald. I'm okay with it. In 2004 I wasn't. But as they say that’s water under the bridge.

At that time I was 31 and had some significant hair loss, but still had some hair on top, you know, the sweet comb-over look. Actually, I’d cut it short and the glare was getting bad. Probably a III on the chart. The first couple years after the surgery I was very pleased with the results and thought I'd made a great decision 2,000 grafts were what I think I had done. My hair wasn’t thick, but it looked good.

Now I'm 38 and for some reason my hair seems to look much more unnatural than it did 3 - 4 years ago. Possible contributing factors: 1) Despite taking 5mg of Finasteride every day I'm quite certain I've lost any of the original hair that I had on top of my head (not the crown, but the hairline), and 2) the hair on the top and front of my head sticks up and looks fake or bristle-like. It didn’t use to do this. I don’t know what’s caused this. The doc used all 1 & 2 follicular units; no big plugs. It also looks thinner and has a crispy, crunchy sound when I pat it with my hand. Not bad, but it’s there.

So I'm looking at my options and would welcome any ideas/experiences you can share to help me out:

1) Get an additional transplant surgery. I don't like this option because I hated the experience of the first one. I hate the scar in the back of my head. I hate looking in the mirror at my transplanted hair. Do two wrongs make a right?

2) Somehow get rid of the transplanted hair. I’ve looked at laser hair removal. Anyone have experience with this? Also considered but would hate to go the surgical hair removal route.