Early Hair Loss

(Look for pictures on my profile, I"m not sure how to add them)

Hey everyone,

I am very new to the hairloss community. Recently, within the last 18months I have been receding in the temples. Since I am only 19 years old, I want to bite this thing in the butt before it completely destroys my self-esteem.

Recently, I have met with a local dermatologist and she had recommended using rogaine for 6 months on the temples. After 6 months, she said to re-evaluate the situation and get on Propecia if needed. Currenty, I am just finishing my 1st month and have noticed no change.

One of my questions is what should I expect from these two products? With Rogain, should i expect to see any regrowth? Or will it most likely halter the hair loss situation? (I realize that results vary with the individual, but I am just curious what my expectations are). Also, if i do go on Propecia, what should my reasons for goin on the perscription be? Should I go on Propecia if I don't experience any change with my temples at all? Or is no change a good thing (meaning, that Rogaine has haltered the hair loss temporarily?)

If either of these products halter my hair loss within the next couple of years, I would LOVE to fill in my temples surgically. Would FUE or Strip be a good choice? I have no idea to be honest, but I have seen such great results in the hairline with Doctors like Armani, Feller, and Rahal and it gets me so excited.

Any feedback at all would be greatly appreciated guys. Like I said, remember that I'm only 19 years old, but I hope that early action will lead to better results in the future?

Thanks again,

cperry23j

Edited by cperry23jd

Ok, where to begin.....