Minoxidil Use Revisited

garyr

Many of you guys have been using minox for years. So, I've been using the stuff for a few months prior to my upcoming transplant. I realized I was putting the stuff only on my empty crown. Shouldn't I reverse this and put it on the hairs nearest the empty areas all over my head? Logic would say that I'm using it to prevent further loss and not new growth. However, if I do this in a single measured amount it hardly covers much territory even if it's dispersed through a spray. I'm also taking Propecia.

Thanks,

garyr

Many of you guys have been using minox for years. So, I've been using the stuff for a few months prior to my upcoming transplant. I realized I was putting the stuff only on my empty crown. Shouldn't I reverse this and put it on the hairs nearest the empty areas all over my head? Logic would say that I'm using it to prevent further loss and not new growth. However, if I do this in a single measured amount it hardly covers much territory even if it's dispersed through a spray. I'm also taking Propecia.

Thanks,

garyr

My 2 cents...

Apply it all over the hair loss zone. You're trying to strengthen any "at-risk" follicles to protect against shock loss (correct?)

Be careful because some guys do find Minoxidil preparations irritating. Don't go into surgery with an irritated scalp. And clarify with your doctor how many days pre-surgery you should stop using it.

The most efficient way to use it is to part your hair, and use just a drop and spread it with your fingertips, then part a slightly different section and repeat, etc etc. Don't unleash a torrent of Minixidil, try to use a drop at a time.