hair transection from donor harvest

When a strip donor is cut, does the doctor cut on a straight line or goes around the individual hairs in order the minimize cutting near a hair follicles?

If the doctor cuts on a straight line, i would assume that there will be some transection? How many grafts can be lost that way? Thanks.

I am not a doctor. The opinions and comments are of my own.

HT with Dr. Cooley on Nov 20, 2008

2097 grafts, 3957 hairs

Proscar, 1.25 mg daily, skip the 5th day, started Nov 2007

My Hair Loss Blog - Hair Transplant with Dr. Cooley

When a strip donor is cut, does the doctor cut on a straight line or goes around the individual hairs in order the minimize cutting near a hair follicles?

If the doctor cuts on a straight line, i would assume that there will be some transection? How many grafts can be lost that way? Thanks.

2097 grafts, 3957 hairs

latinlotus,

It's impossible to avoid transection entirely when harvesting a strip, but most of today's leading surgeons use a single blade or double blade held at an angle to minimize transection. Leading surgeons concerned about transection will do their best to cut around (rather than through) follicles to minimize damage.

The cut is never entirely straight, but not every follicle can be avoided during the cutting process.

Best wishes,

Bill

Great question latinlotus... I had never though of that before and i have never though of so many other things before...Thanks Bill for clearing things up but your answer leads my mind to one question.. What other surgical equipments can a surgeon use to cut the strip to the same effect ?? And of what equipments should one be careful of and when should one write off the surgeon if he uses any of the one to cut the strip...sorry these are not one but many questions...

Done done.. Check out my blog..

2785 grafts by Dr. Humayun Mohammad

My Hair Loss WebLog

Javy,

If any surgeon uses a multi-bladed knife to harvest the donor strip, run away.