Post Op Question

Hey everyone,

I just had my first HT on 1/4 and was concerned because I have accidentally bumped the grafts a few times with my fingers throughout the week while trying the style the hair that covers them. Since I am new at this I cant tell if I have done any damage or not, should I be concerned?

It certainly does not sound like you did any damage. It's okay to touch them at this point. After roughly three days, the grafts are seated pretty good in the dermis layer of scalp tissue.

You will know if you lose a graft when you see a steady trickle of blood ooze from any of the recipient sites where the grafts were placed.

IMHO, you are fine, just keep your scalp safe guarded from bumping it into walls, etc. ;)

Hope you have an awesome result!

Gillenator

Independent Patient Advocate

I am not a physician and not employed by any doctor/clinic. My opinions are not medical advice, but are my own views which you read at your own risk.

Supporting Physicians: Dr. Robert Dorin: The Hairloss Doctors in New York, NY

Yeah, no worries.

I've pulled a graft out twice after surgery because I kept playing with it. It was difficult not too, because it itched so much. As gillenator said, you will know if you pull one out.

I kept thinking "How can so much blood come out of a tiny hole like that"?

Yeah, no worries.

I've pulled a graft out twice after surgery because I kept playing with it. It was difficult not too, because it itched so much. As gillenator said, you will know if you pull one out.

I kept thinking "How can so much blood come out of a tiny hole like that"?

I believe the reason that there is so much bleeding and oozing when a graft is removed is because the recipient site created goes deep into the dermis layer of scalp where the blood supply is rich.

Gillenator

Independent Patient Advocate

I am not a physician and not employed by any doctor/clinic. My opinions are not medical advice, but are my own views which you read at your own risk.