Photo for shapiro post on tichphytic closure

Thank you Dr. Shapiro. That is excellent information. How long will it be before all of the top surgeons are using this technique or some variation thereof?

2700 Total Grafts w/ Keene 9/28/05

663 one's = 663

1116 two's = 2232

721 three's = 2163

200 four's = 800

Hair Count = 5858

1000 Total Grafts w/Keene 2/08/07

Mostly combined FU's for 2600+ hairs

My Photo Album

See me at Dr. Keene's Gallery

Thanks for the post Dr. Shaprio. Though I had heard the method described, the visual helps provide a more thorough understanding of what actually takes place.

Hairbank

1st HT 1-18-05 - 1200 FUT's

2nd HT 2-15-06 - 3886 FUT's Dr. Wong

3rd HT 4-24-08 - 2415 FUT's Dr. Wong

GRAND TOTAL: 7501 GRAFTS

current regimen: 1.25mg finasteride every other day

My Hair Loss Weblog

Disclaimer: I'm not a Doctor (and have never played one on TV ;) ) and have no medical training. Any information I share here is in an effort to help those who don't like hair loss.

Dear Dr. Shapiro (and others),

Question is:

If I have had a previous strip procedure, can you simply have the second procedure excise the first scar and close with this new procedure (assuming you can excise the first scar).

Thank you.

Dec. 2004 - 1938 Grafts via Strip

Feb. 2009 - 1002 Grafts via FUE

I'm not a Doc but can answer your question as I just had it done. Unless there's a specific reason not to do it, they should automatically remove the old donor scar with the new harvest for the HT. Downside is you probably lose 400-500 grafts but you get the thin, clean results of Tricho.

Hairbank

1st HT 1-18-05 - 1200 FUT's

2nd HT 2-15-06 - 3886 FUT's Dr. Wong

3rd HT 4-24-08 - 2415 FUT's Dr. Wong

GRAND TOTAL: 7501 GRAFTS

current regimen: 1.25mg finasteride every other day

My Hair Loss Weblog