propecia / proscar

SETT

Guys,

I encourage you both to use the "find" feature on this site to research this as it's been discussed many times before. Here goes....

Propecia and Proscar have the same active ingredient......Finsteride. Propecia is a 1mg pill, Proscar a 5mg pill. You can either take Propecia or buy Proscar and cut it into 1/4ths with a pill cutter. People do this because Proscar is cheaper. And, you can buy generic Proscar which is even more cost effective.

As for DHT blocking abilities, both Propecia and Proscar block DHT AR II..............only Avodart (Duasteride) blocks both DHT AR II and DHT AR I but it isn't FDA approved for hairloss at this point..........only for BPH (enlarged prostate).

Hope this helps.

Hairbank

1st HT 1-18-05 - 1200 FUT's

2nd HT 2-15-06 - 3886 FUT's Dr. Wong

3rd HT 4-24-08 - 2415 FUT's Dr. Wong

GRAND TOTAL: 7501 GRAFTS

current regimen: 1.25mg finasteride every other day

My Hair Loss Weblog

Disclaimer: I'm not a Doctor (and have never played one on TV ;) ) and have no medical training. Any information I share here is in an effort to help those who don't like hair loss.

I went to my doctor to get a prescription for Proscar instead of Propecia - reason being that Proscar is covered by my drug plan.

The doctor thought that there might be an ethics issue as Proscar is for prostate issues - which I don't have. The furthest he would go is to write the prescription for Finasteride and let the pharmacist make the interpretation.

The pharmacist preached the ethics and legal issue as well and said she would have to consult the doctor, which of course resulted in the Proscar NOT being made available. Each party looked at the other and wanted to be taken off the hook, leaving me with the ill colored end of the stick.

Has anyone else run into these doctor/pharmacist issues, and if so, what is the workaround?

Thanks

Bayer

Bayer,