Propecia Shedding?

outhere

Hi guys,

I'm 21, and I've been using Propecia for just over 2 months now and have started to notice my hair shedding. I've read that this is normal for most guys and it is a good sign that your hair is responding to the treatment. I was curious in knowing, for those of you who have successfully used Propecia - how long did the initial shedding last for you and when did you start to notice the shedded hair begin to grow back? I know they all say 3 - 6 months but I was keen to find out your personal experiences or thoughts.

Before I began using Propecia, I had a definate widows peak but since I've been using the treatment I seem to be losing hair around the temples rapidly. Do you think this is due to the Propecia treatment? I had planned to start Min/Rogaine only after 9 months of using Propecia so I could see the individual effects of each but now I'm unsure. If I do start Min/Rogaine, I understand that it's lifelong and I can't keep stop starting so I want to be absolutely sure before I start.

I've also read that Propecia does not assist in receeding temples, which makes me think I should begin using Rogaine around the front to hopefully keep the hair around the temples I have. Do you guys think I should be using Rogaine?

Thanks

Originally posted by outhere:

Do you guys think I should be using Rogaine?

Thanks

NO! I definitely would not recommend Rogaine - it didn't help me one bit (I used it for a year) and your existing hair can become dependant upon it, so when you do stop using it you end up worse off than you would have been without the stuff. And if you are only 21, using Rogaine for the next 50 or 60 years will cost you a fortune. I suppose there will be plenty of people here who will recommend it... it will be interesting to see how many are for and how many against. I certainly wish I had never used the stuff (I stopped using it about a month ago).

PB

Originally posted by PB: