Androgen Upregulation

Can topical Dut or even topical Fin upregulate androgen receptors on the scalp causing your scalp to inadvertently become more sensitive to the effects of straight Testosterone (not just DHT) and then have Testosterone start causing miniaturization and eventually hair loss? 

• Administrators

That’s an interesting theory, but testosterone by itself doesn’t have any effect on hair loss. So I don’t see how receptors being more sensitive to testosterone would make any difference. But I could see your scalp becoming more sensitive to DHT if you stop using the medication. Of course, this is speculation. 

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Not sure where I read about it ( probably on  redit or a hair forum) but hair at the front is sensitive to testosterone and hair at your back is sensitive to DHT. That is why avodart / dutasteride wipes out peoples hairline as it raises t.

Probably just bro science.

Im an avid user of avodart myself

• Like 1

9 hours ago, thetdog666 said:

Not sure where I read about it ( probably on  redit or a hair forum) but hair at the front is sensitive to testosterone and hair at your back is sensitive to DHT. That is why avodart / dutasteride wipes out peoples hairline as it raises t.

What do you mean that dutasteride wipes out people hairlines?

I've been a long time fin user and I'm thinking of adding dut twice a week, my only area of loss is the hairline so I would be interested to hear what you mean as the last thing I want is for dutasteride to make things worse

• Administrators