Why Isn't Topical Finasteride/Dutasteride More Popular?

• Administrators

There was a thread started not too long ago asking why topical finasteride isn't sold by big pharmaceutical companies, but had me thinking. Why isn't topical finasteride more popular. Given how effective it has shown to be on limited studies, there should be a huge demand and a lot of outlets selling topical finasteride. What do you guys think? Would love to hear the communities input. 

Why Isn't Topical Finasteride and Dutasteride More Popular?

• Like 2

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

• Valued Contributor

A brilliant question Melvin and I'm a little stunned as to why it's not far more readily available. Also I stagger to imagine how many hair transplant candidates would consider a transplant if it were more accessible (like finasteride). Not to mention the benefit for those who have had a hair transplant.

• Like 1

I agree. Topical fin should be more accessible and affordable. It shouldn't cost $70 a month either.

Medication for Male Pattern Baldness: Topical Dutasteride - Topical Minoxidil 5% - Ketoconazole Shampoo

Medication for Cicatricial Alopecia: Hydroxychloroquine  - Topical Clobestasol - Doxycycline

• Administrators
11 hours ago, Gatsby said:

A brilliant question Melvin and I'm a little stunned as to why it's not far more readily available. Also I stagger to imagine how many hair transplant candidates would consider a transplant if it were more accessible (like finasteride). Not to mention the benefit for those who have had a hair transplant.