How much should I tip after each SMP session

While SMP does need to be touched up every few years, sometimes longer or sooner depending on how your body retains the ink, its not at the level of something like a meal or barbershop visit. In my research I haven't come across any discussions on customary tipping, even for the touchup sessions. Your initial procedure is probably going to cost anywhere from $1000 up to $5000 depending on how much you need done. Touchups will be in the $100s of dollars minimum.

I think its safe to assume those prices include everything your SMP artist feels justify their work and skills. And you don't want to make it more difficult for your SMP artist to file his income taxes. :D

• Administrators

I didn’t know smp would require a tip. I assume its a few thousand. Generally, you tip for things that aren’t that expensive.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

I’ve never expected or felt disappointed if a client doesn’t leave a tip. Occasionally clients do give me something as a gesture of appreciation for the work I performed or the positive change I may have made in their life (i.e., once a client gave me a gift card to a local gourmet shop I recommend him to). I’d say do something extra if you’re really pleased with the work and you really want to. But you are certainly not expected to tip. 

Edited by hairthere

I am the owner/operator of AHEAD INK a Scalp Micropigmentation Company in Fort Lee, New Jersey. www.aheadink.com

• Valued Contributor