Topical Dutasteride Effective For Hair Loss?

Melvin- Admin

• Administrators

I have been hearing a lot about topical dutasteride. World renowned surgeons are starting to compound their own topical dutasteride. Unfortunately, there's only been one study that looked at intramuscular dutasteride with mesotherapy the results looked impressive, but the sample size was tiny. Do any of you guys have any experience? Which doctors are the one's compounding topical dut? So far I know Lupunzula, Mwamba, and Wesley. 

Topical Dutasteride Effective For Hair LossTopical Dutasteride.png

• Thanks 2

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

I'd love to know. If topical finasteride is effective (as multiple studies have shown), then topical dutasteride should be even more effective. I'm surprised there haven't been studies on topical dutasteride. I also have only seen topical dutasteride by itself and not compounded with minoxidil (I see numerous finasteride/minoxidil combo topical solutions in the market though). Great post Melvin.

• Like 1

My advice does not constitute a patient-physician relationship nor as medical advice and all medical questions/concerns should be addressed to your medical provider. 

Very interested in this. I'm scared to use Finasteride, I know I probably shouldn't read into all the side effects, but I do. I've heard Dutasturide is bigger on a molecular level, or something, so isn't as absorbed into the blood stream, theoretically lowering the risk of side effects. Any thoughts on this?

• Administrators
28 minutes ago, Gooner said: