How many grafts are needed for my second procedure?

fuzz916

Hello everyone. I am 37 years old. I had an FUE procedure done about 1.5 years ago from a local Doctor in Northern California(not a super experienced Doctor). 2300 grafts were placed. He dropped my hairline quite nicely, but the density is lacking. I knew I wouldn’t get the proper density on the first try because of how receded my hairline was. How many more grafts do you think I will need for my second procedure? I plan on getting a couple of consults from few of the popular docs in FUE.

The pics were taken in a nicely lit room.

94138AD0-70AC-4E7B-9580-CDB1DFF4A012.jpeg

FD5F6312-FD9D-40F4-80D7-0C205F128E04.jpeg

DE6CE3A7-3B39-41CA-9FD7-2026D04DE0E3.jpeg

E8A2FA56-5973-4A9A-9AF8-1F84B326C2F0.jpeg

• Administrators

Can you share a before picture? 

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Have read through your old threads... seems like you didn't take the good advice members gave here, you could have probably got a great result first time and not needed a second transplant.

Despite this, looks like it wasn't a complete disaster. Go with a good doctor this time and it should work out nicely. How's your crown? 

2,000 grafts FUT Dr. Feller, July 27th 2012. 23 years old at the time. Excellent result. Need crown sorted eventually but concealer works well for now.

Propecia and minoxidil since 2010. Fine for 8 years - bad sides after switching to Aindeem in 2018.

Switched to topical fin/minox combo from Minoxidil Max in October 2020, along with dermarolling 1x a week.