Does having SMP hinder your doctor when carrying out a HT??

Exactly as the title says really. I shaved my head during the 1st lockdown as I obviously couldn’t get my hair cut so took the easy option and do didn’t like how much it showed my thinning hair so I wen band got SMP done. I was super happy with the results but I don’t want to keep a shaved head forever so I’m now looking to get a HT done towards the end of summer this year. Has anyone had experience with doing a HT after SMP and can answer the above question? 

• Administrators

I’m tagging @DrTBarghouthi he should be able to answer you.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

3 hours ago, Sitries1 said:

Exactly as the title says really. I shaved my head during the 1st lockdown as I obviously couldn’t get my hair cut so took the easy option and do didn’t like how much it showed my thinning hair so I wen band got SMP done. I was super happy with the results but I don’t want to keep a shaved head forever so I’m now looking to get a HT done towards the end of summer this year. Has anyone had experience with doing a HT after SMP and can answer the above question? 

Thanks for the mention. No it shouldn’t. The difference between hair and pigment is easily visible while working. So there should be no problem at all with that. There is also no obvious negative effect on graft survival or anything related to that.!

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Dr. Taleb Barghouthi approved and recommended on the Hair Transplant Network. You can schedule a virtual consultation with me here.