Dr. Ron Shapiro Side By Side Study FUT and FUE Lifetime Grafts

Melvin- Admin

• Administrators

After speaking with Dr. Konior and Dr. Nadimi this weekend, Dr. Konior mentioned a study conducted by Dr. Ron Shapiro, an elite surgeon who actually kick started this community by performing surgery on @Pat - Community Publisher the study concludes that patients who start off with FUT first and combine FUE get more lifetime grafts than either technique alone. I thought it was pretty interesting, especially for those interested in maximizing donor supply.

https://www.ishrs-htforum.org/content/htfi/29/5/local/front-matter.pdf

• Like 2

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

I think it's interesting that strips of approximately 3k grafts are recommended as the upper limit to promote the highest chance of favorable scarring. I wonder if this recommendation would be lowered on subsequent strip procedures once scalp laxity has been compromised by a surgery.

• Like 2

• Administrators
3 minutes ago, Mycroft said:

I think it's interesting that strips of approximately 3k grafts are recommended as the upper limit to promote the highest chance of favorable scarring. I wonder if this recommendation would be lowered on subsequent strip procedures once scalp laxity has been compromised by a surgery.

That's a great question, I may reach out to Dr. Ron Shapiro @Dr. Ron Shapiro to get his input. He really is such a talented surgeon, there haven't been any studies on this scale done before. 

• Thanks 1