FUE transplant hairs grow before shed?

Full shed is not expected with everyone. In some cases transplanted hairs go into a growth stage immediately, or can grow a bit then shed or alternatively can shed immediately. 

• Like 1

Dr. Taleb Barghouthi approved and recommended on the Hair Transplant Network. You can schedule a virtual consultation with me here.

Contact me via WhatsApp at +962798378396 (Jordan) 

Social media:

Facebook

YouTube

Twitter

Instagram

• Administrators

In my experience, the hairs do grow slightly, but I shed around 3 weeks.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Some of mine grew up until 2-3 months and then shed, it really is pretty unpredictable. I wouldn't assume the hairs in your hairline have been transected though just because they are doing different things to what others are - each follicle has a brain of its own. 

I would suggest that in most cases, the original growth that is being referred to is more the hair shaft slowly being "pushed" and expelled from the recipient site before falling (shedding), therefore appearing longer. Even with patients who maintain a percentage of grafts without ever seemingly visually shedding those grafts, this is generally due to the graft remaining until it is expelled by the "new growth cycle" and is therefore immediately replaced by a new hair. As this happens at unique times throughout the recipient area, it would appear as though some grafts did not shed.