Minoxidil for Norwood scale 1 diffuse thinning and retrograde Alopecia

Oshank

Heyy, i am 22 and been noticing decrease in density of my hair for the past 3 years, so i consulted a dermatologist recently and she diagnosed norwood scale 1 baldness and suggested 1ml Minoxidil 5% once a day, will it be sufficient to reverse even some of the density loss, plus i am applying it on the sides because i feel i am losing density on sides too because i see a lot of thin hair above my ear, so i apply around 2ml total through out my scalp and sides once a day basically, is that okayy to do, how effective is minoxidil alone to gain back some density or thicken my hair,also do i have retrograde Alopecia? please help🙏

IMG_20201107_023619.jpg

Screenshot_20201107-023024.png

Screenshot_20201107-023036.png

Screenshot_20201107-023047.png

• Administrators

Have you truest finasteride?

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Minoxidil is basically a growth stimulant. It will help to lengthen and thicken shrinking hairs so their cosmetic value improves to be closer to what it once was, but if you aren't taking a DHT inhibitor like Finasteride you're basically just bailing water on a sinking ship.

Edit: You look like you've got a lot of hair still and are very early in the process. If you can take Finasteride without any issues you should absolutely start taking it immediately and add in Minoxidil after that if you want. You are catching it pretty early and are in a good position to save your hair.

Edited by Mycroft
  • Like 1