[Finasteride] Lowering dose from 1.25 mg to 1 mg

alex1985

Since 2003 I take 1.25 mg Finasteride per day, with satisfying results! Today I received a call from my GP (I have a new one, because I moved to a different city), she is not willing to prescribe me 5 mg Proscar anymore (or 1 mg Propecia). Finasteride causes hormonal imbalance and is bad for my prostate, was her explanation. I told her I've been using Finasteride for more than 17 years without any (significant) side effects. Nonetheless she won't prescribe it anymore.

It really freaks me out, I just got a hair transplant (3 weeks ago) to restore my hairline and using Finasteride is really important to keep the hair that I have. I can go to another GP but I am afraid I will get the same answer. It is not as easy anymore to get Finasteride prescribed in the Netherlands (Amsterdam).

I told her she forces me to buy Finasteride on the 'black (generic) market'.

Question: Because it is a bit of a hassle to break the 5 mg pills in quarters, I think this is a good moment to switch to the 1 mg variant (dr. Reddys - Finax). Do I risk losing hair, if I lower the dose with 0.25 mg (after 17 years using 1.25 mg)?

Go to another GP and get a prescription lol? don't understand your problem. Are you afraid to get turned down by another doctor or something or is finasteride not legally prescribed in the Netherlands? You're clearly a candidate for it if you've already been taking it for 17 years. and the jump from 1.25 to .25 isn't entirely significant, but if you were already at 1.25 why go down.. just go get another GP 

On 11/5/2020 at 2:23 PM, alex1985 said:

Finasteride causes hormonal imbalance and is bad for my prostate

Uh, actually finasteride was originally invented to help a bad prostate, not cause it to go bad. Like TorontoMan said, unless she has some medical tests you took backing it up I'd drop her and replace with a male doctor if possible. One mom is more than enough for any man :D

• Haha 2