1,800 grafts or 3,200 grafts?

Ok, so I've been doing as much research as possible and I've contacted lots of reputable surgeons. My dilemma makes the mind boggle though. One surgeon estimated I'd need 1,800 grafts, another one reckons 3,000+. Most reckon 2,200 - 2,500. This worries me. How can the estimates vary so much?

I would go with what most Drs recommend 2200-2500 grafts. It’s sometimes difficult to judge how many grafts are needed unless it’s in person consultations.

And as I always have to say that some Drs appear to get better coverage with less grafts. 

• Administrators

One surgeon can be conservative and the other one aggressive, it depends on what you prefer and what’s in your best interest.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

I can understand how it is diffucult to estimate based on pictures, but the difference between 1,800 and 3,000+ is stupendous. Dr Saifi in Poland qouted me 1,800, Dr Bicer in Turkey qouted 3,000 - 3,500. I really like the vibe off Dr Anastasakis (Greece) and he estimated 2,000. I have an appointment in Blackrock (Dublin) next week so I'll ask them, but they never do more than 2,000 grafts per session, and they probably won't want to tell me why one surgeon will say one thing and another surgeon will say something totally different.

Why would one surgeon be conservative and another aggressive? I want my hairline restored, preferably with nice lush density.