Is it possible to transplant hair where there was originally none?

Let's say my donor area allows for me to cover my baldness, which perhaps I augment with some SMP. Could it be possible to use any excess that the donor area has in order to create a better hairline, by implanting hair where there was originally none (so places on the head where the hair was NOT lost due to baldness).

Thanks guys!

• Administrators

Im not sure I understand the question. You can transplant hair on a completely bald scalp if that’s what you mean. 

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

I think what he means is lowering his hairline to a point where it has never been before, even during childhood. Yes you can, BUT the question is how natural it will look. Alot of younger guys looking to get their first transplant want to go in this direction. Its rarely a good idea, unless you have some serious proportional asymmetries in your head/face/hair, most attempts at this are going to look off/strange in the long run. You really need to consider that for the vast majority of guys, including the ones that don't have male pattern baldness, as they age have at least some hairline receding from what they had during childhood as their facial bones mature, etc., and that is what looks natural and the best for those looking at you.

Yes you won’t have enough grafts to do it. Also you need to plan a hairline not just for now but for the future.