Trichopigmentation fades to nothing (baseline.)

Atown

• Administrators

There are two types, permanent SMP which does not fade, and the ink that faded within a year or so. 

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

2 hours ago, Atown said:

For those who have had Trichopigmentation, can you say for certain that the ink will eventually disappear COMPLETELY if it is not maintained or will SOME ink still remain on the scalp?

Tricopigmentation is the temporary version of SMP. Anyone who claims that it fades completely away in 2-3 years is not being honest. I had trico done over 5 years ago and, while the pigmentation has faded, it is still present and very much visible on my scalp. If you are considering the treatment, please know that there are risks involved. For one, as mentioned, the ink does not fade away in a few years. It could very much remain visible for many years. You could have a laser treatment to remove it but that also comes with a risk as lasers, if not done correctly, can damage the dermis and native hair. In addition, your skin type could react negatively to SMP. If you are fair skinned and prone to redness, you could develop Post-Inflammatory Erythema (PIE) in the areas that were treated. This leaves a red 'blush' due to the trauma of the treatment itself. That blush may never completely fade. I have been in contact with at least two other people who had SMP and developed PIE (including myself). The common factor was skin type. 

• Like 1
  • Confused 1

• 2 weeks later...
On 9/28/2020 at 4:12 PM, kirkland said: