Lateral Humps Why They’re Important

• Administrators

No one ever discusses the importance of the lateral hump, but they are the bridge that keep the donor from the transplanted area intact, without them you’ll be left with an island of hair. It’s important Norwood 6s maintain some donor supply, in case the lateral hump ever degrades. Also, you should have a surgeon check your lateral humps for miniaturization. 

It’s sort of like the temporal peaks that meet the hairline.

image.jpeg

heres an example of how it looks when

it deteriorated with a transplant 

image.jpeg

• Like 4
  • Thanks 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Interesting, haven't heard that area referred to with a particular name, but yea its kinda like the crown-halo effect, but on the sides of the head.

Poor guy, some frontline battles won but the war lost! This is every man's worse endgame nightmare starting down the HT path. Wonder if he was taking any meds too or if he just did HTs.

23 minutes ago, Melvin-Moderator said:

image.jpeg

Maintaining the donor area is one of the most important aspects, some young guys with NW2 - 3, go for a cheap FUE procedure through a black market clinic and the technicians crop 4000 grafts for 1500-2000 job, huge waste for nothing.

So on my 2nd procedure\repair HT, most of the grafts were taken from the sides of my head.

Edited by Doron Harati

Doron Harati - Patient coordinator for HDC Hair Clinic, HT procedures are done by MD Doctors with Microscope FUE.

For consultation contact me: WhatsApp +972526542654