My Donor 6 Years Later

• Administrators

I recently cut my hair, and there’s been a lot of talk about donor scars, I thought it would be a perfect time to share these pictures. 

For some of you who may not know, I underwent three FUE procedures, two with Dr. Diep, and I’ve had a total of 5,300 grafts. 

I cut my hair with no guard to 1/2 guard up to a #1 and #2 at the very top. I made this post, because it’s important to remember that scars are largely physiological and the appearance of scars varies widely.

I have dark hair and ligter skin, so my scars will be more visible than someone with dark hair and skin, or light hair and skin. 

852DAB76-AD4E-4268-AFDA-669E4BEEEB10.jpeg

D2891272-10E1-4C6C-A420-FBB295792BCA.jpeg

419ADE68-C827-4F54-8205-B8A48FA90E55.jpeg

• Like 4

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Based on those pictures it doesn't look like you had any surgery. Perfect example of why going to the right surgeon makes all the difference in the world for both results and wound healing. 

Edited by Dr. Suhail Khokhar
  • Like 1

My advice does not constitute a patient-physician relationship nor as medical advice and all medical questions/concerns should be addressed to your medical provider. 

Sure, I can see the scars.  But what a dense frontal third/hairline!  @Melvin-Moderator Think you got any more sessions left in you?  For the crown, perhaps?

Dr. G: 1,000 grafts (FUT) 2008

Dr. Paul Shapiro: 2,348 grafts (FUT) 2009 ~ 1,999 grafts (FUT) 2011 ~ 300 grafts (Scar Reduction) 2013