FUE or DHI What's Better?

• Administrators

Someone recently asked me this question, and I was a bit shocked that DHI has gotten so much hype. Comparing the two is like asking whether the washer is better than the dryer. Follicular unit grafts can survive almost 24 hours in the right holding solution, so the thought that grafts dry up and die within a few minutes if they're not immediately transplanted is false. I'd love to hear the communities thoughts?

FUE or DHI What’s Better?

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

In my opinion, DHT and it’s benefits are borderline a marketing gimmick. The biggest issue I see with it is grafts are not trimmed of the excess skin before being placed. This increases the risk of grafts not being placed properly and healing incorrectly with skin irregularities like tenting. Basically what it comes down to is DHT is actually easier on clinics because they don’t have to dissect or trim any grafts so common sense tells me if it was beneficial I think every clinic would do it since it actually saves them time and effort. Maybe I’m wrong though and some doctors can actually give their opinions on the matter. 

• Administrators

I’d say its past borderline. It’s a flat out gimmick in my opinion. You bring up some valid points.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

View my thread