How Many Grafts Do You Need To Get A Dense Hair Transplant?

• Administrators

There's always questions surrounding the number of grafts, how many grafts per cm2, and the 50% rule. But what does that really mean to the average person researching a hair transplant? Most people just want to know a number, is it 1,000, 2,000, etc. What does the community think, let's put our heads together, and suppose a guys is a norwood 3, how many grafts?

How Many Grafts Do I Need To Get A Dense Hair Transplant?

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

I'd say 3,000 grafts for a pretty bad NW3.

I figure 3k for the first 1/3 of the head. 2k for the mid scalp. 2k for the crown. This is all subject to change based on the individual person, but this is a common structure I've seen.

• Like 1

• Administrators

Those are good estimates, another thing to consider is hair thickness. A Norwood 3 with thick hair can probably get away with half the grafts of a Norwood 3 with fine hair.

• Like 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.