What exactly is the 50 percent rule?

Doctors say that hair thinning does not become evident until 50 percent is lost. Does it mean that hair look exactly similar to the naked eye even if 50 percent is lost or does it mean that thinning is not visible until 50 percent is lost. I don't think hair can look exactly similar with 50 percent hair loss because it would lead to a reduction in 50 percent volume so the mane might not look as thick although thinning might not be apparent?thoughts?

• Administrators

You will not visibly see a difference in density until you’ve lost 50% that’s why hair transplants work, because they can restore 50% of original density and it will look dense. For example, if you had 100 grafts per cm2, you could restore the appearance of fullness with 50 grafts. 

• Like 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Would this appearance of fullness look exactly same as it was with original hair? I think , it cannot look as good as 100 percent hair. If it looks exactly the same , then hair transplants essentially have the capability to give pre hair loss look with 50 percent density in front specially.i highly doubt that's the case,I might never look how I use to with hair transplant.but if that's indeed the case, I would be happy.

Edited by NAVI

• Administrators
23 minutes ago, NAVI said: