FUE or FUT for Norwood 6?

If someone is at least a Norwood 5 and quite probably a Norwood 6, and has never previously had any hair transplant surgery, generally speaking, should they be thinking more along the lines of FUE, FUT or a combination of both?

• Administrators

FUT gives you the most grafts, for the least amount of money, and slightly better growth. Downside is the linear scar, but if you can live with that, it’s the best way to go. 

• Like 4

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

I was probably a 5 or bordering on 6, and I did as Melvin said with a FUT, and came back with FUE the 2nd time.  I can't say FUE was the best path the 2nd time, but I got better than expected results both times.  Maybe somebody more in the know will talk about FUT + FUT.

• Like 1

"Imagination frames events unknown in wild fantastic shapes of hideous ruin, and what it fears, creates." Hannah More

To get the most possible grafts you should (1) max out on strip, which could be a handful of surgeries depending on your scalp elasticity.  (2) Then max out on FUE.  For those of us who are predestined for NW6 (maybe NW5) or worse then the answer is do whatever will give you the most grafts.   

• Like 1

Dr. G: 1,000 grafts (FUT) 2008

Dr. Paul Shapiro: 2,348 grafts (FUT) 2009 ~ 1,999 grafts (FUT) 2011 ~ 300 grafts (Scar Reduction) 2013

Dr. Konior: 771 grafts (FUT) 2015 ~ 558 grafts (FUT) 2017 ~ 1,124 grafts (FUE) 2020

My Hair Transplant Journey with Shapiro Medical Group

8 hours ago, Mike_2020 said: