How prominent are the scars on the donor after a hair transplantation procedure? FUE

According to our experience, there will always be microscopic scarring on the donor area after grafts have been harvested. They will not be obvious but if the hair on the donor area is kept quite short (trimmed or shaved) then the collective absence of hair will outline the empty area. Even in the beard area when used for donor grafts, a two or three day stubble can reveal a thinner density on the extracted parts. 

What are your views on this?

• Like 1

Official representative of Eugenix Hair Sciences

Dr. Arika Bansal & Dr. Pradeep Sethi

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5crlGyTac2hlU1gHneADzQ

• Administrators

In my experience, scars are visible at a zero guard in around 95% of patients, that percentage drops to 50% with a #1 guard and 25% with a #2 guard. 

• Like 2

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

• Administrators
37 minutes ago, Dr. Glenn Charles said:

The scarring also depends on the size of the punch used to perform the FUE procedure as well as the the patients skin type and color.

Great points, 

The larger the punch, the more visible the scars. Also, dark hair and light skin shows more scarring, as opposed to light hair and light skin or dark hair and dark skin.

• Like 2

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey