Does the recipient area need to be shaved (FUT)?

I've read on a few reputable hair surgeons' websites that a hair transplant can be performed without shaving the recipient area. However, I've never seen an FUT post-op photo where the patient didn't have his recipient area shaved. Is it possible to undergo FUT without shaving the recipient area? Specifically, I'm concerned with the crown.

This may depend in part on the surgeon's preferences. What I have been told is that it is possible to do it without shaving the recipient area, but shaving makes the surgeon's task easier. As far as I was concerned, that was good enough reason to do it, because the long term result was the only thing that really mattered to me.

• Administrators

In my opinion, it’s best to shave, less chance of shock loss. 

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Where as it’s possible most Drs would prefer to shave the recipient area. It will take them more time to carry out the procedure if unshaven.

You want them to have the best chance to place the grafts without extra searching for placement.

I understand, that makes sense. Perhaps this question is best suited for my doctor, but if I would like the doctor to work around my existing hair, I presume that would be easier with a shorter haircut?