Are Mega-Session Hair Transplants Worth It?

• Administrators

I would love to hear the communities thoughts on mega-session procedures? What are some of the pro's and cons for you guys? What are some of your guys's concerns or is it a no-brainer. Let me know your thoughts.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

10 hours ago, Melvin-Moderator said:

I would love to hear the communities thoughts on mega-session procedures? What are some of the pro's and cons for you guys? What are some of your guys's concerns or is it a no-brainer. Let me know your thoughts.

Thanks for that short narrative.  There are two important points to take away from it.  Techniques and methods have improved and this has allowed for the industry, as a whole, to achieve greater numbers. Second, the assumption that all will go well.

Let's address the first point.  Science overall keeps improving and there will always be a better mouse trap.  I gather the hair restoration will not be an exception and refinement will continue.  Who is not to say 10,000 grafts will be possible in a few years given new techniques.  For now, however, (given current techniques), I don't think it's a good idea.  And, while I am talking in general terms, this would involve taking larger and wider segments,  less elasticity and larger scars  if an FUT, and a totally depleted donor if an FUE.  Everyone is different, I'll give you that.  Bigger heads - more grafts, but the pattern is bigger too.