What you wish you knew before getting a hair transplant?

Hi all,

I've been researching hair transplants for over 3 years now and I feel like I am informed enough and ready to pull the trigger - but the one thing nagging at me is - with everything in life - having finally gone through an experience, you always look back with a little more knowledge (this includes buying a new car, negotiating salary at a new job, getting married, having kids, etc.).

This community has an amazing wealth of knowledge that I have been so grateful to learn from! 

To learn even more I'd like to know - what did you learn after taking the plunge OR what did you wish you knew before you got a hair transplant? 

I think this question can really help us noobs make the best informed decision based on what others have learned and experienced (both positive and negative). 

Thanks in advance! 

• Like 2

Patience with the healing process and growing. It takes time and more time for some of us. Adequately plan your recovery plan with work and find out if you're able to wear a hat etc. It's awkward but you'll look back and realize it was a small sacrifice to gain confidence and appearance.

I think the key is not to rush into the first one you’ve seen and to really do your research, even by speaking to members on the forum on their individual results with that surgeon. Sometimes you just want it done, but I decided to give the big three a go first (Finasteride, Minoxidil & Nizoral) then if you don’t get the results after a year, then maybe look into booking the transplant

Definitely don't rush into surgery, which was a mistake I made before my first procedure. I was desperate to get a hair transplant, but it failed miserably. I guess the other thing I will add is that results are not guaranteed. While the success rate for the procedure is high with a good doctor, things can still go wrong and you might end up worse off compared to where you started

• Administrators